New Smyrna Beach could see at least 1 contested municipal race as the deadline for qualifying becomes more pronounced

NSB City Commissioner Lynne PlaskettHeadline Surfer / file photo

Should City Commissioner Lynne Plaskett opt to run again for her zone 4 seat, she'll have competition.  Qualifying papers have been taken out by Patrick Casserly. Click the PDF attachment for details on his filing.

NEW SMYRNA BEACH -- A candiate has emerged for one of three seats up for grabs on the City Commission with Steven Patrick Casserly taking out qualifying papers to run for seat held by longtime incumbent Lynne Plaskett.

She has yet to file and neither has Mayor Adam Barringer, though he is, indeed, running for a second term.

With Jim Hathaway having announced last fall that he was running for a seat on the Volusia County Council, along with candidates Deb Denys of New Smyrna Beach and Justin Kennedy of Edgewater. With Hathaway making his announcement last fall that he would not seek re-election with the commission, that seat so far has one candidate, Jason McGuirk, chairman of the Planning and Zoning Board, whose announcement immediately followed Hathaway's.

Casserly could not be reached for comment Wednesday. Plaskett, a former County Council member, said she's moving closer to announcing her intention whether to seek another term. 

Qualifying officially ends noon Wednesday, June 13.

Henry Frederick Picture

Short Bio

Henry Frederick is publisher of Headline Surfer®, the award-winning 24/7 internet news outlet in Daytona Beach, Florida, via Specializing in breaking news & investigative reporting, Frederick is among the Sunshine State's most experienced reporters with dozens of journalism-industry awards.

View his stories archives here