70. VCSO: 56-year-old man found dead in water-filled pit in Osteen

Top 100 Local Stories of 2014 in Central Florida / Headline Surfer®
Body found in Osteen / Headline Surfer®Headline Surfer® graphic / The locator map at left shows the area south of the 500 block of Osteen-Maytown Road where the body of a man was found floating in shallow water on Aug. 1, 2014. 
 

 OSTEEN, Fla -- A body found floating in a water-filled pit on a Saturday afternoon on the first day of August turned out to be that of a homeless man who was spotted by a bystander.

The victim was identified as 56-year-old Robert Lewis Williams, a Volusia County Sheriff's spokesman said.

Witnesses said they saw Willims going into the shallow water, perhaps to cool off from the hot Florida sun the afternoon before.

"Williams (had) family who live close by where the body was found, but he had no known permanent address," Sheriff's spokesman Gary Davidson said. 

While there were no immediate signs of foul play, the Sheriff’s Office investigated any way and after the Medical Examine's Office ruled the cause of death accidental drowning, the VCSO closed its case.

A resident called the Sheriff’s Office at 12:30 p.m. athat Friday after spotting the body floating in the water, just south of the 500 block of Osteen-Maytown Road. The Sheriff’s Office’s Dive Team retrieved Williams' body and brought it to shore. Investigators believe his body had been there for 24 hours or so, Davidson said.

The tragic circumstances of Robert Lewis Williams' death comes in at No. 70 in the HeadlineSurfer.com recap of the top 100 local stories of 2014.

 

Top 100 Countdown of 2014 / Headline Surfer®RECAP

The HeadlineSurfer.com Countdown of the Top 100 Local Stories of 2014...

Posted Tue, 2015-04-14 19:01
 
Posted Mon, 2015-04-13 08:39
 
NSB firefighters collect money for muscular dystrophy / Headline Surfer®
Posted Mon, 2015-04-13 01:11
 
Joh Holloway of NSBPD in motors competition / Headline Surfer®
Posted Sun, 2015-04-12 15:20
 
Posted Fri, 2015-03-27 21:58
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-26 21:59
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-26 21:36
 
Phillip Moore arrested om vandalism charges in 2014 for allegedly whacking an ATM with a hatchet / Headline Surfer®
Posted Fri, 2015-03-20 05:27
 
Posted Wed, 2015-03-18 08:12
 
Posted Wed, 2015-03-18 07:21
 
Posted Wed, 2015-03-18 05:49
 
Shawn Whitt of Palm Coast sentenced to life in priso in 2014 for raping girl, 11 / Headline Surfer®
Posted Sat, 2015-03-14 18:01
 
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-12 10:22
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-12 09:21
 
Posted Sun, 2015-03-08 13:44
 
Posted Tue, 2015-03-03 10:38
 
Posted Sat, 2015-02-21 05:30
 
Posted Sat, 2015-02-07 05:13
 
Posted Thu, 2015-01-29 11:37
 
Posted Tue, 2015-01-20 19:50
 
Posted Tue, 2015-01-20 17:05
 
Posted Tue, 2015-01-20 15:16
 
Posted Fri, 2015-01-16 16:15
 
Posted Tue, 2014-12-30 08:21
 
Posted Mon, 2014-12-29 21:47
 
Posted Mon, 2014-12-29 01:13
 
Posted Sat, 2014-12-20 06:44
 
Posted Fri, 2014-12-12 08:15
 
Posted Wed, 2014-12-10 15:39
 
Posted Thu, 2014-12-04 23:09
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Top 100 Countdown Advertisers:
Myron Hammond, owner of Edgewater Towing, Edgewater, FL / Headline Surfer®The Headline Surfer® Countdown of the Top 100 Stories of 2014, is sponsored by Edgewater Towing & Myron's Auto Service of Edgewater, FL.
Myron Hammond has been an anchor advertiser with HeadlineSurfer.com since 2011. Click the display ad below which will take you to Hammond's website for all of your towing & auto service needs.  
 
Henry Frederick Picture

Short Bio

Henry Frederick is publisher of Headline Surfer®, the award-winning 24/7 internet news outlet covering the Daytona Beach-Sanford-Orlando metro area via HeadlineSurfer.com for a decade now. A longtime cops & courts reporter focused on breaking news & investigative reporting, Frederick is among the Sunshine State's most prolific daily news reporters, having amassed dozens of journalism-industry awards in print anddigital platforms. Frederick is enrolled at Full Sail University in Winter Garden, FL, where he's three-fourths through the online Master of Arts program in New Media Journalism. His graduation is in August.