New Era in Volusia County Governance

Headline Surfer
DELAND, Fla. -- It's a new era in Volusia County governance with three newbies on the dais in the Frank T. Bruno County County Council Chambers: County Chair Ed Kelley, District 2 Councilwoman Billie Wheeler and District 4 Councilwoman Heather Post, who complement at-Large Councilwoman Joyce Cusack, District 3 Councilwoman Deb Denys, District 1 Councilman Pat Patterson and District 5 Councilman Fred Lowry.
For new County Chair Ed Kelley, who was elected Nov. 8 by a plurality of 75,000 votes over then-incumbent Jason Davis, this newly-configurated council with the former Ormonnd Beach mayor, Wheeler and Post now partnering up with Cusack, Denys, Psatterson and Lowry, along with County Manager Jim Dinneen, County Attorney Dan Eckert and other key administrators, today's swearing in ceremony represents the new era.
"They used to say Volusia County is at the end of the I-4 corridor." Kelley said. "Well, Volusia County is at the beginning of ther I-4 corridor, not the end of it."
Henry Frederick Picture

Short Bio

Henry Frederick is publisher of Headline Surfer®, the award-winning 24/7 internet news outlet covering the Daytona Beach-Sanford-Orlando metro area via since 2008. A longtime cops & courts reporter focused on breaking news & investigative reporting, Frederick is among the Sunshine State's most prolific daily news reporters, having amassed close to a hundred award-winning byline stories narly eveenly split in print and digital platforms. Frederick earned his Master of Arts in New Media Journalism with academic honors from Full Sail University in Winter Park in February 2019. He was a metro reporter with the Daytona Beach News-Journal for nearly a decade and then served as a city editor for the Taunton Daily Gazette in Taunton, Mass, while maintaining a residence in Central Florida. Prior to moving to Florida, Frederick was a metro reporter for the Rockland Journal-News in Wst Nyack, NY, for seven years. Headline Surfer was named the Sunshine State's top internet news site by the Florida Press Club in 2018.