New Year's Feature: Top 10 entrants for inaugural Headline Surfer Wall of Shame

Headline Surfer

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- Is it possible for any elected politician or wannabe politician in East Central Florida who has outdone Volusia County Sheriff Mike Chitwood with his incessant personal attacks on those he sees as his mortal enemy and labeling them "Scumbags?" 

Doubtful, but as Yogi Berra once said, "It ain't over 'til it's over and 2018 is coming to a close real soon. So, it's unlikely anyone can top Chitwood and his vitriol which was really there all along. It just got worse. 

It's a given that Chitwood has made the list, and it's likely when all is said and done, he'll get the No. 1 ranking for the Top 10 entrants in the inaugural Headline Surfer Wall of Shame. Yes, there are nine other miscreants who have made the list. Who else is a bonafide first ballot Hall of Shamer? 

Well, there's County Councilwoman Heather Post, the aptly-named "Druggie on the Dais?!" Her veracity is easily called into question in terms of past illicit drug use, namely cocaine and marijuana. The former Volusia County deputy will be joined on the dais in January by one of her former bosses, Ben Johnson, Chitwood's predecessor as sheriff and the at-large County Councilman-elect. 

And The City of Edgewater comes in with the Rogue 3 in County Councilman Gary Conroy, Megan O'Keefe and Amy Vogt. And perhaps, even more, an ogre than this trio is O'Keefe's father, Oak Hill City Commissioner Jeff Bracy.


Henry Frederick Picture

Short Bio

Henry Frederick is publisher of Headline Surfer®, the award-winning 24/7 internet news outlet covering the Daytona Beach-Sanford-Orlando metro area via since 2008. A longtime cops & courts reporter focused on breaking news & investigative reporting, Frederick is among the Sunshine State's most prolific daily news reporters, having amassed close to a hundred award-winning byline stories nearly evenly split in print and digital platforms. Frederick earned his Master of Arts in New Media Journalism with academic honors from Full Sail University in Winter Park in February 2019. He was a metro reporter with the Daytona Beach News-Journal for nearly a decade and then served as a city editor for the Taunton Daily Gazette in Taunton, Mass, while maintaining a residence in Central Florida. Prior to moving to Florida, Frederick was a metro reporter for the Rockland Journal-News in West Nyack, NY, for seven years. Headline Surfer was named the Sunshine State's top internet news site by the Florida Press Club in 2018.