Who's on the Nov. 8 ballot aka 'runoff'

Headline Surfer photo / Anita Bradford, candidate for a seat on the Deltona City Commission, is among myriad candidates in Volusia County who will appear on the ballot in the Nov. 8 general elections.
By Henry Frederick
Headline Surfer

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla -- Not every local, county, state and federal race in Volusia County will be decided in the Aug. 30 primary. There are quite a few that will be decided in the Nov. 8 general elections, also known as the runoff.

The runoff refers to non-partisan races where the top two finishers in a primary with more than two candidates face off in the second election. That is unless the top vote getter in a fiven primary contest receiveds at least 50 percent of the votes plus an extra vote. In somre contests where there are only two candidates, the electiuon is held in the primary such as is the case for the district 2 seat on the Port Orange City Council and wo seats on the Volusia County School Board.

Here is a breakdown of the Nov. 8 races already slotted:

State Senate, district 14: Dorothy Hukill (R), Richard Dembinsky (NPA);

State House of Representatives: district 25: Noel Cheryl Bickford (D), Tom Leek (R);

State House of Representatives, district 26: Michael Cantu (R), (Democratic winner)

State House of Representatives, district 27: David Santiago (i) (Republican), Robert Mann (D), Randi Marie Doan (NPA);

Volusia County Council, district 2: Willie Kimmons, Billie Wheeler;

Soil & Water Conservation District, seat 2: KelleeJo Ferrari, Derrick Orberg;

West Volusia Hospital Authority - group A, seat 3: Judy Craig, Dolores Guzman;

Daytona Beach Shores Council, seat 2: Richard Bryan, Jennie Celona;

Daytona Beach Shores City Council, seat 3: Mel Lindauer, Lorraine Geiger;

DeBary City Council, seat 1: Stephen Bacon, Phyllis Butlien;

Deltona City Commission, district 2: Anita Bradford, Thomas Stauffenberg;

Deltona City Commission, district 4: Christopher Alcantara, Nancy Schleicher;

Edgewater City Council, district 2: Alex Penalta, Amy Vogt;

Edgewater City Council, district 4: Bob Andrejkovics, Gary Conroy;

Lake Helen City Commission,  zone 4: Jim Connell, Daisy Raisler;

New Smyrna Beach City Commiddion, zone 4: Charles Hartman, Kirk Jones;

Oak Hill City Commission, seat 2: William Lindlau, Kenneth Robinson;

Oak Hill City Commission, seat 4: Jeff Bracy, Robert Livingston, Lyn Seaward;

Orange City Council, district 2: Jeff Allebach, Ron Saylor;

Orange City Mayor: Tom Abraham, Gary Blair, Michael Wright;

Ormond Beach City Commissioner, zone 1: Jonathan Kaplan, Dwight Selby;

Ormond Beach City Commissioner, zone 4: Harold Briley, Robert Littleton.

Henry Frederick Picture

Short Bio

Henry Frederick is publisher of Headline Surfer®, the award-winning 24/7 internet news outlet covering the Daytona Beach-Sanford-Orlando metro area via HeadlineSurfer.com since 2008. A longtime cops & courts reporter focused on breaking news & investigative reporting, Frederick is among the Sunshine State's most prolific daily news reporters, having amassed close to a hundred award-winning byline stories nearly evenly split in print and digital platforms. Frederick earned his Master of Arts in New Media Journalism with academic honors from Full Sail University in Winter Park in February 2019. He was a metro reporter with the Daytona Beach News-Journal for nearly a decade and then served as a city editor for the Taunton Daily Gazette in Taunton, Mass, while maintaining a residence in Central Florida. Prior to moving to Florida, Frederick was a metro reporter for the Rockland Journal-News in West Nyack, NY, for seven years. Headline Surfer was named the Sunshine State's top internet news site by the Florida Press Club in 2018.