63. Deltona man kicked out of Planet Fitness in Orange City after complaints about his anti-abortion T-shirts

Top 100 Local Stories of 2014 in Central Florida / Headline Surfer®
Mike Amaroso of Deltona in abortion controversy / Headline Surfer®Abortion controversy at gymn in Orange City / Headline Surfer®Photos for Headline Surfer® /
Mike Amoroso holds up one of his anti-abortion shirts that got him kicked out of a Planet Fitness that had him featured in a WFTV news report that went viral.
 

ORANGE CITY, Fla. -- A 70-year-old pro-life supporter from Deltona was reportedly kicked out of the Planet Fitness in Orange City twice for wearing T-shirts with anti-abortion messages that drew complaints from several other patrons, according to a story published in November by WFTV in Orlando.

Among the slogans on the T-shirts worn by Mike Amoroso and deemed offensive by some at the workout facility: "Abortion Stops a Beating Heart" and "Pray to End Abortion."

Amoroso, who has a collection of pro-life shirts, told WFTV in an interview aired in November that he was given an edict by the gym's management: Take the offensive T-shirts off in favor of something else or leave the facility.

“(They) told me, ‘I am very sorry. We have someone who is not happy with your shirt. Someone is offended by your shirt.’ I said, ‘You know, I wear them all the time.’ (they) said, ‘You’ll have to leave,’ and I left.”

“(They) told me, ‘I am very sorry. We have someone who is not happy with your shirt. Someone is offended by your shirt.’ I said, ‘You know, I wear them all the time.’ (they) said, ‘You’ll have to leave,’ and I left.”

The WFTV report on Amoroso went viral appearing in a news reports across the country.

Mike Amoroso's pro-life T-shirt controversy comes in at No. 63 in the HeadlineSurfer.com countdown of the top 100 local stories of 2014.

Officials at the Planet Fitness gym did not return calls for comment on the controversy.

Top 100 Countdown of 2014 / Headline Surfer®RECAP

The HeadlineSurfer.com Countdown of the Top 100 Local Stories of 2014... 

Posted Sat, 2015-04-25 15:19
 
Posted Fri, 2015-04-24 20:23
 
Posted Wed, 2015-04-22 05:49
 
Posted Wed, 2015-04-22 00:35
 
Posted Tue, 2015-04-21 22:33
 
Posted Tue, 2015-04-21 22:11
Posted Tue, 2015-04-21 17:49
 
Posted Tue, 2015-04-14 19:01
 
Posted Mon, 2015-04-13 08:39
 
NSB firefighters collect money for muscular dystrophy / Headline Surfer®
Posted Mon, 2015-04-13 01:11
 
Joh Holloway of NSBPD in motors competition / Headline Surfer®
Posted Sun, 2015-04-12 15:20
 
Posted Fri, 2015-03-27 21:58
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-26 21:59
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-26 21:36
 
Phillip Moore arrested om vandalism charges in 2014 for allegedly whacking an ATM with a hatchet / Headline Surfer®
Posted Fri, 2015-03-20 05:27
 
Posted Wed, 2015-03-18 08:12
 
Posted Wed, 2015-03-18 07:21
 
Posted Wed, 2015-03-18 05:49
 
Shawn Whitt of Palm Coast sentenced to life in priso in 2014 for raping girl, 11 / Headline Surfer®
Posted Sat, 2015-03-14 18:01
 
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-12 10:22
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-12 09:21
 
Posted Sun, 2015-03-08 13:44
 
Posted Tue, 2015-03-03 10:38
 
Posted Sat, 2015-02-21 05:30
 
Posted Sat, 2015-02-07 05:13
 
Posted Thu, 2015-01-29 11:37
 
Posted Tue, 2015-01-20 19:50
 
Posted Tue, 2015-01-20 17:05
 
Posted Tue, 2015-01-20 15:16
 
Posted Fri, 2015-01-16 16:15
 
Posted Tue, 2014-12-30 08:21
 
Posted Mon, 2014-12-29 21:47
 
Posted Mon, 2014-12-29 01:13
 
Posted Sat, 2014-12-20 06:44
 
Posted Fri, 2014-12-12 08:15
 
Posted Wed, 2014-12-10 15:39
 
Posted Thu, 2014-12-04 23:09
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Top 100 Countdown Advertisers:
Myron Hammond, owner of Edgewater Towing, Edgewater, FL / Headline Surfer®The Headline Surfer® Countdown of the Top 100 Stories of 2014, is sponsored by Edgewater Towing & Myron's Auto Service of Edgewater, FL.
Myron Hammond has been an anchor advertiser with HeadlineSurfer.com since 2011. Click the display ad below which will take you to Hammond's website for all of your towing & auto service needs.  
 
Henry Frederick Picture

Short Bio

Henry Frederick is publisher of Headline Surfer®, the award-winning 24/7 internet news outlet covering the Daytona Beach-Sanford-Orlando metro area via HeadlineSurfer.com for a decade now. A longtime cops & courts reporter focused on breaking news & investigative reporting, Frederick is among the Sunshine State's most prolific daily news reporters, having amassed dozens of journalism-industry awards in print anddigital platforms. Frederick is enrolled at Full Sail University in Winter Garden, FL, where he's three-fourths through the online Master of Arts program in New Media Journalism. His graduation is in August.