59. VCSO: Ormond Beach woman tells neighbor fatal shooting of husband Easter morning inside home accidental

Top 100 Local Stories of 2014 in Central Florida / Headline Surfer®
Homicide locator in Ormond Beach, FL / Headline Surfer®Headline Surfer® graphic /
The early Easter morning shooting death of Sanford Olson at his residence at 7 Seabreeze Drive in Ormond by-the-Sea as shown in this locator map, apparently was apparently accidental at the hands of his wife, though Volusia County Sheriff's investigators haven't said so either way.

 

ORMOND BEACH -- The Volusia County Sheriff's Office's Major Case Unit has not said definitively that the early Easter Sunday morning shooing death of a 55-year-old man in Ormond-by-the-Sea apparently at the hands of his wife was accidental as she told a neighbor.

Victim Sanford Olson's wife was interviewed about the death at 7 Seabreeze Drive after receiving a call at 2:52 a.m. Easter Sunday about a shooting that had happened. When they arrived on scene, deputies discovered he had been shot to death.

"The Sheriff's Office was dispatched to the scene after a resident called 9-1-1 at 2:52 a.m., saying her neighbor was banging on her door and asking her to call the police because she had shot her husband," agency spokesman Gary Davidson told Headline Surfer®. "Four minutes later, deputies began arriving at the scene of the shooting, 7 Seabreeze Drive, and found Sanford Olson lying on a bed inside the home with a gun beside him."

"The Sheriff's Office was dispatched to the scene after a resident called 911 at 2:52 a.m., saying her neighbor was banging on her door and asking her to call the police because she had shot her husband," agency spokesman Gary Davidson told Headline Surfer®. "Four minutes later, deputies began arriving at the scene of the shooting, 7 Seabreeze Drive, and found Sanford Olson lying on a bed inside the home with a gun beside him."

The husband was pronounced dead at 3:07 a.m. The slain man's wife, 57-year-old Doris Barrells, had told her neighbor that the shooting was an accident.

Sheriff's investigators interviewed Barrells that fateful day, and she was fully cooperative with the investigation, Davidson said.

The Sheriff's Office later determined, though, that the fatal shooting was the result of a suicide.

The fatal shooting of Sanford Olson comes in at No. 59 in the HeadlineSurfer.com countdown of the top 100 stories of 2014.

Top 100 Countdown of 2014 / Headline Surfer®RECAP

The HeadlineSurfer.com Countdown of the Top 100 Local Stories of 2014...  

Posted Mon, 2015-04-27 01:48
 
Posted Sun, 2015-04-26 05:41
 
Posted Sat, 2015-04-25 22:16
 
Posted Sat, 2015-04-25 17:09
  
Posted Sat, 2015-04-25 15:19
 
Posted Fri, 2015-04-24 20:23 
 
Posted Wed, 2015-04-22 05:49
 
Posted Wed, 2015-04-22 00:35
  
Posted Tue, 2015-04-21 22:33
 
Posted Tue, 2015-04-21 22:11
 
 
Posted Tue, 2015-04-21 17:49
 
Posted Tue, 2015-04-14 19:01
 
Posted Mon, 2015-04-13 08:39
 
NSB firefighters collect money for muscular dystrophy / Headline Surfer®
Posted Mon, 2015-04-13 01:11
 
Joh Holloway of NSBPD in motors competition / Headline Surfer®
Posted Sun, 2015-04-12 15:20
 
Posted Fri, 2015-03-27 21:58
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-26 21:59
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-26 21:36
 
Phillip Moore arrested om vandalism charges in 2014 for allegedly whacking an ATM with a hatchet / Headline Surfer®
Posted Fri, 2015-03-20 05:27
 
Posted Wed, 2015-03-18 08:12
 
Posted Wed, 2015-03-18 07:21
 
Posted Wed, 2015-03-18 05:49
 
Shawn Whitt of Palm Coast sentenced to life in priso in 2014 for raping girl, 11 / Headline Surfer®
Posted Sat, 2015-03-14 18:01
 
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-12 10:22
 
Posted Thu, 2015-03-12 09:21
 
Posted Sun, 2015-03-08 13:44
 
Posted Tue, 2015-03-03 10:38
 
Posted Sat, 2015-02-21 05:30
 
Posted Sat, 2015-02-07 05:13
 
Posted Thu, 2015-01-29 11:37
 
Posted Tue, 2015-01-20 19:50
 
Posted Tue, 2015-01-20 17:05
 
Posted Tue, 2015-01-20 15:16
 
Posted Fri, 2015-01-16 16:15
 
Posted Tue, 2014-12-30 08:21
 
Posted Mon, 2014-12-29 21:47
 
Posted Mon, 2014-12-29 01:13
 
Posted Sat, 2014-12-20 06:44
 
Posted Fri, 2014-12-12 08:15
 
Posted Wed, 2014-12-10 15:39
 
Posted Thu, 2014-12-04 23:09
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Top 100 Countdown Advertisers:
Myron Hammond, owner of Edgewater Towing, Edgewater, FL / Headline Surfer®The Headline Surfer® Countdown of the Top 100 Stories of 2014, is sponsored by Edgewater Towing & Myron's Auto Service of Edgewater, FL.
Myron Hammond has been an anchor advertiser with HeadlineSurfer.com since 2011. Click the display ad below which will take you to Hammond's website for all of your towing & auto service needs.  
 
Henry Frederick Picture

Short Bio

Henry Frederick is publisher of Headline Surfer®, the award-winning 24/7 internet news outlet covering the Daytona Beach-Sanford-Orlando metro area via HeadlineSurfer.com for a decade now. A longtime cops & courts reporter focused on breaking news & investigative reporting, Frederick is among the Sunshine State's most prolific daily news reporters, having amassed dozens of journalism-industry awards in print anddigital platforms. Frederick is enrolled at Full Sail University in Winter Garden, FL, where he's three-fourths through the online Master of Arts program in New Media Journalism. His graduation is in August.